Monday, October 17, 2011

Bad News :( :(

Oh Children's hospital, how we hoped we wouldn't have to see you again :( Well my fear came true last night. We were SO hoping to avoid Children's hospital this time around, and really thought we had. We were just getting settled and into a routine, so this has kind of come as a big blow. Not to mention, how much harder it is to be in the hospital when you have another little one at home.

So Harper woke up in the night last night and felt really warm. I didn't think too much of it. We took her temp, and it was a low grade fever. So we put her in some cooler jammies, fed her, and she went back to sleep. She woke again at about 4:00 and was on fire. We took her temp and it was 101. We called the nurse line, and they said we needed to bring her in to Children's right away. :) NOT the news we wanted to hear. They did say we could go ahead and bring her to Wacnoia, as they do have a NICU there now. That didn't seem quite as scary as going downtown, so hear we are. We got to the ER, and her temp was still 101. For a 10 day old, this isn't good. They have no way to know really what is going on, since she can't tell us. So this morning they ran all sorts of tests. They had to put in an iv, do a catheter to check her urine, and do a spinal tap to check her spinal fluid. NOT GOOD for this mama. I'm pretty much a wreck again. Thank goodness my mom came over to be with Avery. Poor thing, she wakes up and we're all just gone :( There was good and bad news from those tests. The good news is her blood work looked good. The sucky news is that there were some white blood cells in her spinal fluid, which means there is some sort of infection. It could be nothing, or it could be some form of meningitis. We won't know for sure until 48 hours, as it takes that long for the cultures to develop.

So, they moved us up to the NICU. Here we are again. This time though, we are in our own little room, as she is technically kind of quarantined, just in case it would come back positive for meningitis. So all the nurses/doctors have to gown up before they can come in. This just sucks. We're right back in this place. My sweet girl is all hooked up to wires, ivs, cords, etc. She is still eating okay and has lots of wet diapers, so that is good. I'm snuggling her up all I can. She's exhausted from our night, as are we. She has to be on antibiotics as if the cultures come back positive, so that if they are, the treatment has already started. If they do come back, she has to have IV antibiotics for 10 days, so we'd be here for awhile. So for now...we just hurry up and wait, and cross our fingers and hope that nothing develops in those cultures. We're hear for sure until Wed. :(

No comments:

Post a Comment